The Melbourne Cricket Club’s (MCC) story is one of vision, dedication and endeavour and its Archives is a treasure chest of historical, biographical and general information holding fascinating decades of socio-cultural details about the life and times of Melbourne.
A storehouse of memories is preserved and made accessible by the MCC Archives. These primary source documents illustrate the history of the MCC, its management of the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and other sporting facilities, and its contribution towards the development of sport.
MCC Archives was established under the custodianship of the MCC Library on February 23, 2009. It is managed by a full-time professional archivist who is assisted by a research officer with extensive knowledge of the club and sporting history. Volunteers provide support and expertise in various relevant areas.
MCC Archives is a rich resource at the service of MCC members, staff, volunteers and researchers. It occupies approximately 100 linear metres of shelf space.
Types of records held include financial, administrative and cultural/socio/historical records including ledgers, minute books, letter books, membership books, receipt books, stile books, scorebooks, scrapbooks, maps and plans, sketches, personal and business correspondence.
Examples of the most significant material are:
• The earliest surviving MCC letter, dated 15 April 1848.
• The earliest minute book, dated 1847-52.
• The original handwritten Rules of Football, 1859 and 1860.
• Correspondence from the 1890s relating to the donation of an intercolonial cricket trophy (later known as the Sheffield Shield).
The MCC Archives serves the needs of:
• MCC Committee and staff
• MCC members
• MCC volunteers (includes National Sports Museum volunteers)
• The wider family of the Melbourne Cricket Ground
• Researchers and other credentialled users with legitimate research interests such as historians or scholars or those affiliated with recognised educational institutions, government departments or similar organisations.
The collection was opened for public access from April 2, 2012.
Access is only available by appointment.
Find out how to access the MCC Archives collection
Contact the MCC Archives