FIRST video and pics: NRL player Alex McKinnon has spoken publicly for the first time about his horrific neck injury.

    COLLINGWOOD and Essendon is the biggest sporting show in town on Anzac Day, but the Storm insists its annual fixture is also here to stay.

    DESPITE his major fall from grace Lance Armstrong admits in a rare interview he still considers himself a Tour de France champion.

    JASON Bright has continued his frontrunning start in New Zealand, winning V8 Supercars’s first race on Anzac Day at Pukekohe.

    WITH just a handful of games left, there are still nine teams battling relegation — and the financial doom that often accompanies it.


    Latest News

    March 22, 2010

    The Squash Section completed their Squash Championships in early February.

    These championships attracted over 90 players, with over 50 players watching the finals and 35 enjoying the dinner held later that evening.  The winners were as follows:

                                  Winners             Runners-up                
    Open Section       Rex Hedrick                  Steve Salter        
    A Section               Corey Robertson          Darren Burke      
    B Section               Peter Gill                       Tim Storey          
    C Section               Bryan Simpson             James Egan         
    D Section              Fraser Cuthbertson     Marc Nayman    
    E Section               Matthew Gilbee            Ian Windust     

    Our pennant competition commenced in the second week of February, We have fielded 18 teams in Club Circuit, with 12 teams playing out of the RACV Club and six teams playing out of Club Hawthorn.

    At present, after six matches, a minimum of 10 teams should figure in the finals this season.


    December 2009

    The Squash Section has just completed a successful year in 2009.

    Pennant Competition

    In the Spring Season just completed, we had 10 teams in the finals; five teams (A1, A1, B1, B2 and F) played in their respective grand finals and we won three Premierships (A1, B1 and F Grade).

    A1 team (2) defeated A1 team (1) 3 matches to 1; Steven Robinson won 3/0, Peter Gilbee won 3/2, David Mutimer won 3/0, Luke Sims lost 0/3 and the other team member was Alistair Perry.

    B1 team defeated Mulgrave 3 matches to 1; Darren Burke won 3/2, Mario Italiano 3/1, Damien Attard 3/0, Peta Murphy lost 1/3 other the team member was Vanessa Pickerd.

    F Grade defeated Veneto 2 matches all and by 1 game. Jon Shaw lost 1/3, Irene Taylor won 3/0, Helene Solley lost 0/3, Ian Windus won 3/0 and the other team members were Emad Nayef and Daryl Greaves.

    Outstanding performances

    A1 # 1 Rex Hedrick 10 wins 1 loss; A1 # 2 Mark Stoneham 13 wins 1 loss;    
    A1 #2 Nathan L’Hullier 12 wins 2 losses; B1 # 1 Darren Burke 12 wins (undefeated);
    B1 # 2 Vanessa Pickerd 11 wins (undefeated); B2 #1 Marcus Smith 9 wins 1 loss;
    B2 # 2 Peter Gill 9 wins 1 loss; B3 # 2 Steve Cecil 12 wins 1 loss;
    E Grade # 1 Rowan Simpson 9 wins 1 loss;
    F Grade # 2 Irene Taylor 9 wins (undefeated); F Grade Ian Windust 17 wins 1 loss.

    Special congratulations to Peta Murphy and Warren Miller who both won their open age groups at the Australian Masters Championships held in Melbourne in September with over 650 competitors.

    Both Peta and Warren played in the World Masters Championships in Sydney in October. As I was Technical Director for these World Championships, I was very proud to be able to present a Gold medal to Peta Murphy and a Silver medal to Warren Miller. Warren also won a Gold medal in the open teams event.

    Further congratulations must go to Vanessa Pickerd, Peta Murphy, Steven Robinson and Rex Hedrick being chosen to represent Victoria in the Australian Team Championships held in Devonport in October.

    Players Milestones
    Player’s matches played for the squash section at the end of 2009:

    Ken Mitchell 1042, Ian Windust 750 plus, John Faul 700 plus, Paul Barrett 650 plus,             
    Keith Atkins, Darren Burke and Bill Healy 600 plus, Rowan Simpson and Peter Zwar 500 plus.

    Our Sections Dinner Dance/Presentation night held on Saturday, October 24 was a huge success with 200 people attending. Our special guest speaker, Darren Carr, Australia’s No.1 ventriloquist was outstanding,

    Annual General Meeting
    Our Section held their AGM at the RACV Club on Thursday the December 3. The following committee was elected for the next 12 months:

    Chairman - Peter Wright
    Vice Chairman - Ian Raizon
    Secretary - Danni Baylis
    Treasurer - Bill Henderson
    Match and Pennant Chairman - Darren Burke
    Committee members - Helene  Solley, Robina Kennedy, Sharon Elliott, Vanessa Pickerd,  Rob Heath, Martin Galea, Paul Marmaras, Joe Italiano and Neil McArthur.

    At this meeting Bill Henderson was awarded LIFE MEMBERSHIP of the MCC Squash Section for his 18 years of outstanding service as a committee member and our treasurer for the last 15 years.