Melbourne Cricket Club - Hat-trick of flags for MCC Cricket
Find this page online at: News/2013/January/MCC_One-Day_Premierships.aspx

Hat-trick of flags for MCC Cricket

Jan 29, 2013

MCC First XI One-Day premiers, January 27, 2013The MCC First XI secured it second title of the 2012/13 Victorian Premier Cricket season on Sunday by defeating Prahran in the one-day final at the Albert Ground.

And in a triple treat, the Second XI and Third XI also won their respective finals to ensure a hat-trick of celebrations for the Demons.

Having captured the Twenty20 crown against St Kilda last month, the First XI outclassed Prahran, the defending champions in both limited overs formats.

Having won the toss and electing to bat, Prahran was on the back foot from the outset as all-rounder Alex Keath (2/35) struck twice with the new ball.

Wickets continued to tumble, with Simon De Bolfo the only top-order batsman to contribute, reaching 30 before he fell to Brenton McDonald (2/17) to leave Prahran 5/71.

A 54-run partnership between Sam Coates  and Nick Morrey at least gave Prahran something to bowl at.

Rhys Adams provided a brief cameo before he became the second of Pat Smith's (2/42) two victims, with Prahran finishing with 9/168 from its 50 overs.

In reply, the MCC lost skipper Andrew Kent for a duck, but were anchored by opener Matthew Brown.

Brown (77) struck four boundaries and two sixes during his 107-ball stay, earning him Man of the Match.

Partnerships of 80 and 75 with Keath (30) and Robert Cooper (43) ensured the chase would be comfortably hunted down before some cheap wickets at the death saw the Demons clinch victory with five wickets in hand and 35 balls to spare.

To see a full scorecard from the one-day final, click here.

First XI
MCC 5/169 (Brown 77 Cooper 43 Keath 30 Seymour 3/49) defeated 
Prahran 9/168 (Coates 35 De Bolfo 30)

Second XI
MCC 9/103 (Gribben 5/15) defeated
St Kilda 100 (Thompson 3/29)

Third XI
MCC 216 (Gillard 107 Janik 30) defeated
Camberwell Magpies 194 (Janik 3/40)

Copyright © 1838 - 2009 Melbourne Cricket Club (MCC) |