The XXIX Club was formed in 1956 by a group of MCC senior players of the day who wanted to play pleasant social cricket.

The objective was to foster cricket generally, but particularly in the country, by playing mid-week and Sunday games in addition to the normal Premier Cricket fixtures.

The concept was so successful that the club is still flourishing with a membership in excess of 300, a fixture list of 15-20 games each year, and every two years or so an overseas tour.

The mid-week games, usually played on Wednesday afternoons at the Albert Ground, should be of particular interest as an opportunity to get extra match practice in the best conditions in Australia.

XXIX Club teams have visited England, south-east Asia, Canada, Singapore and Thailand. Everyone should go on at least one XXIX Club tour; they are highly recommended as a nice blend of holiday and cricket.

Another major activity each year is the XXIX Club Annual Dinner, which is always an outstanding success.

The list of guest speakers over the years reads like a “who’s who” of Australian cricket, with legends such as Lindsay Hassett, Richie Benaud and Bill O'Reilly featuring in the early years and notables such as Greg Chappell, Mark Taylor, Adam Gilchrist and Kerry O'Keefe in contemporary times.

Click here to view a history of the XXIX Club.

XXIX Club 2016/17 fixture

How to join

All MCC members and those Playing members on the waiting list are eligible for XXIX Club membership, subject to acceptance of a nomination form supported by a proposer and a seconder, each of whom is required to be a financial member of the XXIX Club of at least 12 months standing.

There is an entrance fee of $50 and the annual subscription is $50.

Members are urged to encourage others to join. We are particularly keen to swell the ranks of those whose interest in cricket is not confined to spectatorship.

XXIX Club membership application form.

XXIX Club Committee

Chairman: Geoff Fidler
Secretary: Matthew Stein
Treasurer: Colin Walker
Committee:Mark Anderson, Phil Halbish, John McCormick, Michael Sholly, Nick Quinn, Mark Butler and Tim Norton.