Members reserve

29 July, 2021

Outcome of 184th Annual General Meeting

The 184th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Melbourne Cricket Club was held online on Wednesday July 28, 2021.

President Michael Happell, Treasurer Geoff Roberts and CEO Stuart Fox addressed over 350 members who joined the meeting remotely via virtual link.

The President, Treasurer and CEO spoke to their reports outlined in the 2020/2021 Annual Report and provided a unique insight into the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on the Melbourne Cricket Club.

In his address, President Michael Happell commended MCC members on their perseverance and enduring sense of community throughout the challenges of 2020 and 2021 while reflecting on how the Club has navigated through the pandemic since his address at the 2020 AGM.

Mr Happell also provided an update on the work of the MCC Foundation, Sporting Sections and more while acknowledging the contributions of the Committee, MCC staff, volunteers, members and more for their support and sacrifices over the past year.

CEO Stuart Fox recapped the year that was to members.

Melbourne Cricket Club CEO Stuart Fox provided an overview of the last 12 months, highlighted by the Club’s willingness to adapt through the uncertainties of lockdowns and capacity changes. Mr Fox thanked members in particular for their understanding and acceptance of changes within the MCC Members’ Reserve, to Club life and to match-day operations at the MCG.

Mr Fox mentioned his joy upon seeing MCC members and crowds return to the MCG late in 2020 and early 2021, noting in particular the reopening of gates at the Boxing Day Test and return of crowds to AFL matches in addition to the triumph of the Women’s T20 World Cup match in 2020.

Former MCC President Steven Smith was nominated and awarded Honorary Life membership of the Melbourne Cricket Club at the 184th AGM. President from 2015-2019, Mr Smith was recognized by his peers for his dedication and service to the Club. Read more on Smith’s life membership here.

Michael Happell remains as President of the Melbourne Cricket Club after being re-elected unopposed. Current committee members Sally Macindoe, Geoff Roberts were re-elected as Vice-President and Treasurer respectively, while Ted Baillieu and James Bennett also stood for re-election and were re-elected unopposed.

The President, CEO and Treasurer responded to a range of questions from members before the meeting concluded. Some questions were taken on notice and members will receive a reply to their queries in due course.